Tuesday, June 27, 2017

Button Nose The Sad Little Bear by Gina LoBiondo


23348804

Title: Button Nose The Sad Little Bear
Author: Gina LoBiondo
Illustrator: Brittany Wilder
Pages: 54 (print)
Genre: Children ages 3 on up
Review: ebook provided by author
Buy Links: Amazon, Amazon.uk 



What if toys could actually feel? Would they be happy or sad? Would they be able to love? Button Nose the Sad Little Bear is the story of a much loved little bear and the little girl who will never give up on finding him again.

Wednesday, June 14, 2017

Blog Tour and GIVEAWAY: Magelica's Voyage To the Land of the Fairies

Recently Updated


magelica
sotyrmonster
Title: Magelica's Voyage to the Land of the Fairies
Author: Louise Courey Nadeau
Illustrator: Nathan Heinze
Publication Date: April 2017
Publisher: Magelica Inc.
Number of Pages: 35
Recommended Ages: 5 to 10



 Five Star Readers Favourite and Story Monster approved!  New Magelica's Voyage to the Land of the Fairies is finally out! Its the third children's book in the Magelica trilogy. Put on your magical necklace and join Magelica and her friends as they discover that fairies are real and that love is the most powerful magic of all!In this very special adventure, rainbows light up the sky as Magelica and Prince Will embark on an extraordinary voyage to uncover the mystery of her past. Empowered on her quest by her chosen mother, Magelica and her friends follow the secret scroll to the Land of the Fairies. As they make their way through the forest, fear gets in the way and their courage is tested.

amazon2

FREE Download!
FullSizeRender (16)

Take a peek inside...

 magelica4 







Tuesday, June 13, 2017

Sourcebooks Summer Reads Round Up Spotlight and GIVEAWAY

Jabberwocky10thAnniversary_SocialGraphic-01.jpg

Summer is right around the corner, which means you are probably looking for some suggested summer reading! Sourcebooks Jabberwocky has you covered with this children’s books round-up. We’ve got books for all ages too—from early reader to middle grade. Learn about sharks and physics, go on an adventure with a dinosaur, run around on the soccer field, and then move up to the roof for some fresh air. Enter to win a copy of all eight of the books featured in the post at the bottom.

Monday, June 12, 2017

Harriet and the Spaghetti Snake by Tracy Kushwaha, Emily Hercock (Illustrator)

35145286

Title: Harriet and the Spaghetti Snake
Author: Tracy Kushwaha
Illustrator: Emily Hercock
Published: May 11, 2017
Pages: 30 (print)
Genre: children ages 4 on up
Review: ebook 
Buy Links: Amazon, Amazon.uk 




Meet Harriet, an adorable little girl with a big imagination.

In her kingdom (her bedroom), she is known to her subjects as Harriet the Brave, and she fears nothing;
not fire-breathing dragons, or even sharks. Nothing!

Except vegetables.

But really! What can be scarier than trying a new food?

But when Harriet’s mother serves spaghetti for dinner, Harriet discovers that she may have met her match.

Will she overcome her fear or will she be doomed to stay at the table until she is old and gray...?

My Mama Loves Me: I'm Her Little Girl by Shanalee Sharboneau

27751972

Title: My Mama Loves Me: I'm Her Little Girl
Author: Shanalee Sharboneau
Published: Oct. 6, 2015
Publisher: Mascot Books
Pages: 38
Genre: Children ages 3 on up
Review: Book received by author
Buy Links: Amazon, Amazon.uk





My mama shares with me.
My mama cares for me.
My mama teaches me to dream.
My mama plays with me.
My mama stays with me.
My mama loves me all life long.

Tuesday, June 6, 2017

Free children's ebook for a limited time

Harriet and the Spaghetti Snake by [Kushwaha, Tracy]

Title: Harriet and the Spaghetti Snake
Author: Tracy Kushwaha
Illustrator: Emily Hercock
Published: May 11, 2017
Pages: 30
Click the picture above to be taken to Amazon to get the book. *Please make sure you check that the price is still free before you click buy*



Meet Harriet, an adorable little girl with a big imagination.

In her kingdom (her bedroom), she is known to her subjects as Harriet the Brave, and she fears nothing;
not fire-breathing dragons, or even sharks. Nothing!

Except vegetables.
But really! What can be scarier than trying a new food?
But when Harriet’s mother serves spaghetti for dinner, Harriet discovers that she may have met her match.
Will she overcome her fear or will she be doomed to stay at the table until she is old and gray...?

Friday, May 26, 2017

Here Comes the Shaggedy (Goosebumps Most Wanted #9) by R.L. Stine

25943118

Title: Here Comes the Shaggedy
Author: R.L. Stine
Published: Feb. 23, 2016
Publisher: Scholastic 
Pages: 140
Genre: Children ages 8 on up
Review: Paperback
Buy Links: Amazon, Amazon.uk 



The infamous, Most Wanted Goosebumps characters are out on the loose and after you.. Kelli and Shawn Anderson are not excited about having to move to another state - especially because their new home is directly next to a giant swamp. But their dad is a scientist and he's going down there to study the local flora and fauna. Unfortunately for Kelli and Shawn, there seem to be some very strange creatures that live around their house. They keep hearing about the legend of the Shaggedy, an ancient beast that lives far below the surface of the swamp and can cause a whole lot of damage. Can Kelli and Shawn convince their dad to move back home before it is too late?"

Fifo 50 States by Hayley Rose (Goodreads Author), Jessie B. Orlet (Illustrator)

10627856
Title: Fifo 50 States
Author: Hayley Rose
Illustrator: Jessie B. Orlet
Pages: 112
Published: March 15, 2017
Publisher: Flowered Press
Genre: Ages 5 on up
Review: Hardback received from author
Buy Links: AmazonAmazon.uk 



Fifo's been bitten by the travel bug! Digging up diamonds in Arkansas, looking for fossils in Kansas, enjoying a delicious bowl of gumbo in Louisiana, and even seeing a Broadway show in New York. America is an exciting place!

In Fifo's second book, told in rhyme, Fifo dreams about visiting all 50 states. A colorful reference-like book, Fifo discovers the wonders each state has to offer. He learns along the way each state s capital, shape, flag, motto, and much, much more. The possibilities are endless! So, come along with Fifo and you ll soon discover the beauty of America one state to another.

You and I are made of Cells (Bedtime Science Series Book 1) by Ela Joseph

33787608Title: You and I are made of Cells
Author: Ela Joseph
Published: December 14, 2016
Publisher: Self
Pages: 18
Genre: Children ages 4 on up
Review: ebook from author
Buy Links: Amazon, Amazon.uk 



What are we made of? How can we move our hands and leg? How do we see, read and write? How do we think? This book explains the concepts of cells and the very many special cells that help us to do everyday special things. As a perfect family bedtime book - it aims at introducing the basic concepts of biology to the curious little ones at an early age in a fun way.

Monday, May 1, 2017

Review: The Dandelion Patch by MaryAnn Diorio

34758911Title: The Dandelion Patch
Author: MaryAnn Diorio
Publisher: TopNotch Press
Pages: 30
Genre: Children ages 4 on up
Review: ebook provided by author
Buy Links: Amazon, Amazon.uk 



When Yolanda Riggins discovers that the government plans to build a new highway through her beloved dandelion patch, she rises up in protest and asserts her God-given right to private ownership of property. Will she succeed against all odds to save her dandelion patch? Will tact, truth, and tough love win the day for Yolanda and the children who love her? Read this delightful book to find out.

Saturday, April 8, 2017

Review: Evergreens Story by Ada N Letelier, Antonia Acuna (Illustrations)

22978868Title: Evergreens Story
Author: Ada N. Letelier
Illustrator: Antonia Acuna
Publisher: Strategic Book Publishing and Rights Agency
Pages: 36
Genre: Children four on up
Review: Paperback sent from author
Buy Links: Amazon, Amazon.uk 



Evergreen is a sad little tree that doesn t understand her purpose in life. While the different seasons bring many changes to the forest, Evergreen remains the same, year in and year out. This all changes when a family comes into the forest and takes Evergreen home with them. It is then that Evergreen undergoes a transformation that leaves her reveling in the joy and knowledge that she too is very special and beautiful, just like her friends left behind in the forest. This heartwarming children s book is fun to read all year, but is especially meaningful during the winter season. EVERGREENs STORY is Ada N. Letelier s first children s book. Her love of books, especially children s books, began and grew during her thirty-plus years as an early childhood educator in the public schools of New York City. The inspiration for her book came from reading uplifting stories to her students by authors such as Maurice Sendak, Leo Lionni, and Ezra Jack Keats. All had a lesson to teach, but in very unique ways that very young children could relate to. She hopes her story of the Evergreen will teach children the value of purposefulness. She believes we are all here for a purpose and one must not lose sight of this, no matter what.

Saturday, April 1, 2017

Review and Interview: From Ant To Eagle by Alex Lyttle

32202503Title: From Ant To Eagle 
Author: Alex Lyttle
Published: April 1, 2017
Publisher: Central Avenue Publishing
Pages: 257
Genre: Middle Grade
Review: ARC provided by author
Buy Links: Amazon, Amazon.uk 




My name is Calvin Sinclair, I'm eleven years old and I have a confession… ...I killed my brother.
It's the summer before grade six and Calvin Sinclair is bored to tears. He’s recently moved from a big city to a small town and there's nothing to do. It’s hot, he has no friends and the only kid around is his six-year-old brother, Sammy, who can barely throw a basketball as high as the hoop. Cal occupies his time by getting his brother to do almost anything: from collecting ants to doing Calvin’s chores. And Sammy is all too eager - as long as it means getting a "Level" and moving one step closer to his brother's Eagle status.
When Calvin meets Aleta Alvarado, a new girl who shares his love for Goosebumps books and adventure, Sammy is pushed aside. Cal feels guilty but not enough to change. At least not until a diagnosis makes things at home start falling apart and he's left wondering whether Sammy will ever complete his own journey... 
From Ant To Eagle.

Wednesday, March 15, 2017

Review: Ellie Camps Under The Stars by Ellie and Marci Fair

33354097Title: Ellie Camps Under the Stars
Author: Ellie and Marci Fair
Published: Jan. 1, 2017
Publisher: Pacochel Press
Pages: 44
Children ages 4 on up
Review: Paperback provided by author
Buy Links: Amazon  Amazon.uk 




Ellie the Elephant and Pudgy the Penguin have captivated readers in five previous books. The newest addition to the Amazing Adventures of Ellie the Elephant series follows the friends as they go camping and explore nature.

Ellie and Pudgy have fun planning their camping trip in the mountains and solving problems once they get there. They set up a tent, go for a hike, play games, make s'mores, and look at the stars. During their trip, Ellie and Pudgy talk about the importance of having new experiences and being mindful of their surroundings.

Marci and Elle Fair have written a charming story for every child with a cherished stuffed animal. Thirteen-year-old Elle knows what children like to read in a story and has helped create an unforgettable new journey for Ellie and Pudgy.

Included in the back of the book is a guide to help parents teach their young readers about the importance of appreciating and conserving the environment. Eco-conscious families will appreciate gentle suggestions about reducing their environmental impact and enjoying nature.

Review: One To Ten Squirrel's Bad Day by Carole P. Roman

32827452Title: One To Ten Squirrel's Bad Day
Author: Carole P. Roman
Published: Nov. 22, 2016
Pages: 37
Genre: Children ages 4 on up
Review: paperback provided by author
Buy Links: Amazon, Amazon.uk 


Squirrel is rushing along a tree limb when she trips, losing all her acorns into the rushing water of the river below. Angry and frustrated, she doesn't know what to do. Her good friend, Rabbit, lends both a sympathetic ear as well as a solution. Rather than get angry, Rabbit tells her, rate the problem on a scale of one-to-ten. By identifying and realizing the true importance of the issue, the issue may not seem so overwhelming. Adorable forest creatures help the sad squirrel put everything into perspective so he does not to get stuck in a rut over something that may not be a big deal after all.

NetGalley Review: Dream Big by Kat Kronenberg

30817596Title: Dream Big
Author: Kat Kronenberg
Published: Jan. 10, 2017
Publisher: Greenleaf Book Group
Pages: 48
Genre: Children
Buy Links: Amazon, Amazon.uk 




One by one, Caterpillar, Tadpole, and Flamingo gaze up at the night sky and wish upon a star for their wildest dreams. Baboon, who can’t help but overhear, insists these dreams could never come true. But when he sees Caterpillar turn into a winged butterfly, Tadpole into a dancing frog, and Flamingo into a beautiful pink bird, Baboon realizes that a transformative power exists between these stars and the animals once they truly believe in themselves and their dreams. When Baboon tries out this secret, CATCH-M, his Magical, Mystical, Wished-Upon Star, whooshes down from the heavens to wham! ignite the courage in his chest too, and what happens next is fantastic!
Inclusive of an Arts/Activities resource section, this richly illustrated book demonstrates that together we can all be inspired to identify and pursue our dreams, no matter how big or impossible they may seem. Dream Big is the perfect heart-warming gift of encouragement for anyone starting a new phase in their life or a great send-off for grads—preschool, high school, college, and beyond!

Saturday, March 4, 2017

Review: Santa's First Vegan Christmas by Robin Raven

32885270Title: Santa's First Vegan Christmas
Author: Robin Raven
Published: June 27, 2016
Publisher: Vegan Publishers
Pages: 34
Genre: Children ages 4 on up
Review: ebook provided by author
Buy Links: Amazon, Amazon.uk



This year, experience the holidays with a story of love, peace, and compassion! Meet Dana, a forthright and fun-loving reindeer who lives in the Arctic. On Christmas Eve, she meets Santa Claus, who has come looking for reindeer to pull his sleigh. Dana gently opens Santa's eyes to how we can be more kind to animals. Together they take off on a journey around the world, spreading far more than holiday cheer and giving far more than presents. By the time the sun rises on Christmas Day, things will never be the same!

NetGalley Review: I Want That Love Tatsuya Miyanishi

Title: I Want That Love
Author: Tatsuya Miyanishi
Published: Nov. 20, 2016
Publisher: Museyon Inc.
Pages: 40
Genre: Children ages 4 on up
Review: ebook provided by NetGalley and publisher
Buy Links: Amazon, Amazon.uk 



Although Tyrannosaurus storms around saying that power is everything in the world, he realizes he is getting weaker with age. After his tail gets bitten in a run-in with Masiakasaurus, some young Triceratops nurse him back to health. Touched by their innocent hearts, Tyrannosaurus begins to feel love for these new friends–even though he might have eaten them under different circumstances! So when two Giganotosaurus attack the group, Tyrannosaurus fights them off, holding the children tightly to his body, and sacrificing himself in order to protect them from the Giganotosaurus. The third title in this acclaimed series, I Want That Love explains that love is far more important than power.