Thursday, March 31, 2016

Review: The Rabbit Who Hated Carrots: (Beautifully Illustrated Children's Bedtime Story Book for Ages 1 - 8 with Bunnies) by Simon Knight

27244923Title: The Rabbit Who Hated Carrots
Author: Simon Knight
Publisher: Panda Book Club
Published: Oct. 10, 2015
Pages: 53
Genre: Children ages 5 on up
Review: ebook
Buy Links: Amazon, Amazon.uk 



Ralph the Rabbit loves to play baseball, read, and eat ice cream. However, there is one thing he doesn’t love and that’s carrots. In fact, he HATES them! How is it possible for a rabbit to hate carrots?!

One day, Ralph is talking to his friend Tina the Turtle when they suddenly come across the topic of carrots. As it turns out, Ralph has never eaten carrots before! Knowing this, Father Rabbit and Mother Rabbit hatch elaborate plans in an attempt to get him to try eating carrots. Plans involve a “Superhero pie” and “toy swords”, but the real purpose of these plans fails to escape the notice of the Ralph’s keen eyes. Eventually, Father and Mother Rabbit give up on their scheming. But then, something unexpected happens…

Wednesday, March 30, 2016

Book Blast and GIVEAWAY: That'th what I thaid! And The Sore Prickly Bear by Lisa Schinkski








Title: The Sore Prickly Bear
Author: Lisa Marie Schinski
Genre: Children's Picture Book
Number of Pages: 30

 Fuzzy has a very bad day that keeps getting worse. He is faced with many challenges and doesn't understand why these things are happening to him. Everyone has had a bad day, week, month or even years. He will make you laugh because everyone can relate to Fuzzy in some way. Things always have a way of working out in the end and sometimes even better than it was before!

Amazon ~ Barnes and Noble

Title: That'th what I thaid!: R's and S's
Author: Lisa Marie Schinski
Illustrator: Lauren Panco
Genre: Children's Picture Book
Number of Pages: 32



Stitchie is a happy bunny that is having a hard time saying her R's and S's. She thinks her friends are making fun of her but they just laugh because they think it sounds funny. They love Stitchie, and in the end, Stitchie practices and meets the best teacher who helps her says her R's and S's perfectly. She runs into the woods to share with her friends how far she has come!!

Amazon ~ Barnes and Noble



I was born and raised in Quakertown, Pennsylvania. I currently reside in King of Prussia. I wrote the story about the Sore Prickly Bear when I was 8 years old. My teacher, Mrs. Ulrich encouraged me to write and also gave me the young author's award. I found this book after my mom passed away last year. I had a great childhood but when I wrote this book, my parents got divorced, we moved and I changed schools. A lot of changes for an 8 year old. So I guess I felt like Fuzzy.

Around October 2015, I took the book into work to show my friends because this past year and a half has been very hard for me and my family. I knew when I showed my friends, they would laugh and cry because my life was again Fuzzy's. My friends, Denice, Dee, Candace, Rick, Gina, Tara, Nancy, Tamara and Gina encouraged me to publish this book. So here I am!

I am now 46 years old. I have a great job, great friends, and great family. But there are still days that feel very bad and very unfair.

My goal for publishing this book is to help children understand that bad things happen and bad days happen. But when we have friends and family in our life to help us laugh at ourselves, we can heal and move forward. Everyone has a bad day, week, month or even years. My dream is to share this story for children to know they are not alone and everyone has a bad day.
I am so grateful for my family and friends.

"That'th what I thaid" was published in February 2016. Lauren Panco inspired me to write this story. It is for children who have a hard time with their R's and S's. I think many of us have! I want children to know it's ok to sound different and with practice, it changes. Don't let anyone make fun of you. We are all perfect the way we are!
Website ~ Twitter ~ Etsy ~ LinkedIn

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Tuesday, March 29, 2016

Review: If You Were Me And Lived In ... Egypt by Carole P. Roman

29453528Title: If you were me and lived in Egypt
Author: Carole P. Roman
Published: Feb. 27, 2016
Pages: 28
Genre: Children ages 5 on up
Review: paperback provided by author
Buy Links: Amazon, Amazon.uk 




Join Carole P. Roman when she visits the stunning and exciting land of Egypt in the newest book of her informative series. Learn why this ancient land often called "the cradle of civilization." Travel down the Nile to discover Egypt's fascinating history. See the land through the eyes of a youngster like you and understand what life is like in this exotic place. Don't forget to look at the other books in the series so that you can be an armchair world traveler.

Monday, March 28, 2016

NetGalley Review: Don't Touch This Book! by Bill Cotter

27806725Title: Don't Touch This Book!
Author: Bill Cotter
Publisher: Sourcebooks Jabberwocky
Published: March 28th, 2016
Pages: 32
Genre: Children ages  2 on up
Review: Paperback provided by publisher
Buy Links: Amazon, Amazon.uk 




Larry the lovable monster from Don't Push the Button! is back with another hilarious, interactive adventure!
I know what you're thinking: this is a pretty cool-looking book. But...
DON'T TOUCH THIS BOOK! (Don't even try it, bub.)
Okay, okay. You can touch, but you can only use ONE finger.
Whoa. How'd you do that?
Larry is a loveable monster, but he has trouble sharing. It's up to you to show him how it's done!

Saturday, March 26, 2016

Review: The Berenstain Bears and the Easter Story (Berenstain Bears/Living Lights) by Jan Berenstain and Mike Berenstain

13360376Title: The Berenstain Bears and the Easter Story
Author: Jan and Mike Berenstain
Publisher: Zonderkidz; Act Ina St. Edition
Published: Jan. 24, 2012
Genre: Children, religion
Pages: 33
Review: Ebook
Buy Links: Amazon, Amazon.uk



The Bear cubs and Papa are candy-crazy this Easter! But Mama, with help from Papa, tells the cubs about Jesus' resurrection and shows them that salvation is much sweeter than candy. Includes a colorful sticker set.

Monday, March 21, 2016

Review: Helga Returns (A James and Syvok Adventure) by Wendy Nystrom

19118045Title: Helga Returns ( A James and Syvok Adventure)
Author: Wendy Nystrom
Publisher: Anchor Group
Published: Jan. 30, 2013
Pages: 60
Genre: Children ages 6 on up
Review: ebook won
Buy Links: Amazon, Amazon.uk 



James’ second adventure begins with a footprint. He once again calls out to his Icelandic magical friends, Syvok and Matthias, to discover what it means. He will find Helga, the troll who left the footprint.
James follows Helga to Yamas, the troll village. Will they be left on a glacier or will they save the Guardian Troll from danger? Will Syvok and Matthias reach James in time to save him when the earth tremors?

Thursday, March 17, 2016

Review: Rangeela Tales- Book 1 by Gita V. Reddy

28959086Title: Rangeela Tales Book 1
Author: Gita V. Reddy
Publisher: Self
Published: Feb. 6, 2016
Pages: 63
Review: ebook provided by author
Buy Links: Amazon, Amazon.uk 


Navjyot rescues a near-to-death parrot and wins his trust. The parrot, Rangeela, has exceptional skills. He can speak and understand human speech. Instead of flying free, he chooses to live with Navjyot provided he promises to keep his talking skills a secret. Very soon they become the best of friends and have loads of fun, adventures, and sometimes, spats.
Rangeela Tales is a series of stories about the duo, and also about Navjyot’s nosy cousin, Nimi, and her black cat, Robber, who is on a mission to end Rangeela’s existence.

Review: Alessia Moves House by Lou Silluzio

Product DetailsTitle: Alessia Moves House
Author: Lou Silluzio
Published: Feb. 17, 2016
Publisher: Domjaf Media
Pages: 38
Genre: Children ages 5 on up
Review: ebook provided by author
Buy Links: Amazon, Amazon.uk 


"Are you about to move to a new house but worried how your young ones will react? How do you explain the changes they will face? This heart-warming tale will help explain the move to your little ones in a simple, yet effective, way .... "
Alessia is moving house. While she's excited to be getting her own room and cubby house for the big backyard, something is bothering her.
Could it be leaving the only home she's ever known? Or is it leaving behind her school and all her friends?
Can her mummy and daddy help Alessia see how exciting moving houses can be? Will Alessia agree to go?

Review: Danny The Firefly by D.H. Gibbs

25722322Title: Danny The Firefly
Author: D.H. Gibbs
Published: April 1, 2015
Publisher: Sandphics Creations
Pages: 12
Genre: Children ages 1-4
Review: ebook provided by author
Buy Links: Amazon, Amazon.uk


Join Danny on his night time adventures as he explores the world around him

Monday, March 14, 2016

Review: Cave Kiddos: A Sunny Day by Eric Jay Cash

29325841Title: A Sunny Day
Author: Eric Jay Cash
Published: Feb. 6, 2016
Publisher: Red Feather Publishing
Pages: 14
Genre: Children ages 1-4 maybe 5
Review: Paperback provided by publisher
Buy Links: Amazon, Amazon.uk 


Cave Kiddos is a fun book about four Paleolithic children who share the experience of developing and learning important words and concepts. Join Alk, Haha, Lala, and Zee as they discover the world around them.

Wednesday, March 9, 2016

NetGalley Review: The Gallaudet Children's Dictionary of American Sign Language By the Editors of Gallaudet University Press

22529080Title: The Gallaudet Children's Dictionary of American Sign Language
Author: The Editors of Gallaudet University Press
Published: Oct. 31, 2014
Publisher: Gallaudet University Press
Pages: 384
Review: ebook provided by NetGalley and publisher
Buy Links: Amazon, Amazon.uk




Featuring more than 1,000 ASL signs arranged alphabetically by English terms, entertaining color illustrations, practice sentences, and a DVD of all signs, this volume stands alone as the best ASL reference for deaf and hearing children alike.

Friday, March 4, 2016

Spotlight: Calling All Cars by: Sue Fliess and illustrated by Sarah Beise

 Calling All Cars
Written by Sue Fliess, Illustrated by Sarah Beise
March 1, 2016; 10x10 Hardcover, ISBN 9781492618812
Also available in 8x8 Hardcover, ISBN 9781492638353

Book information
Title: Calling All Cars
Author: Sue Fliess
Illustrator: Sarah Beise
Release date: March 1, 2016
Publisher: Sourcebooks Jabberwocky

Praise for Calling All Cars

“Each double-page spread offers a surplus of amusing sights: three pigs in a convertible, a kitten chauffeuring a royal pair of lions, love-struck snakes hugging and tugging their cars too close together. Beise’s digital illustrations pop with vivid colors…. [Fliess’] rhyming couplets bounce off the page.” —Kirkus Reviews

“This successful collaboration combines brisk and spirited writing with bold, effervescent pictures and will have wide appeal to young readers. Fliess’s punchy rhymes mimic the speed and energy of the cars being described, making for a lively read-aloud… Young car enthusiasts will enjoy the ride through this zippy, robust picture book.” —School Library Journal

About the Book
Big cars, small cars, let’s call ALL cars! This bouncy text explores the wonderful world of cars zipping up, down, fast, and slow. A perfect basic concept books for eager young learners from the author of Tons of Trucks. Then cruise into bedtime!

Rest cars, Hush cars
No more rush, cars.
Cars pull in, turn off the light.
Sweet dreams, sleepy cars...goodnight!

Filled with vibrant art, adorable animal characters, and cars of all kinds from love bugs to the demolition derby, Calling All Cars is for every child who loves to read about things that go! Surprise bonus—follow one long road throughout this vividly imagined world and don’t miss the hidden clues in the artwork!





Buy the Book
Barnes & Noble: http://bit.ly/1QZwx0q
Books a Million: http://bit.ly/1SRWipt
Indiebound: http://bit.ly/1SRWuVL


Sue Fliess is the author of more than a dozen children’s books, including the popular Tons of Trucks and Robots, Robots Everywhere! Her background is in copywriting, PR, and marketing, and her articles have appeared in O, the Oprah Magazine; Huffington Post; Writer’s Digest; and more. Her article from O, the Oprah Magazine was chosen for inclusion in O’s Little Book of Happiness (March 2015). Sue lives with her family and a Lab named Charlie in Northern Virginia. Visit her online at www.suefliess.com.

Connect with Sue Fliess

About the Illustrator
Sarah Beise, a graduate of Minneapolis College of Art and Design, is an innovative illustrator and designer who loves to create fun and unique characters that help tell stories. Originally from Matthews, NC she now makes Kansas City her home along with her two dogs, Maxwell and Mazzie May. For more info visit www.SarahBeise.com.

Connect with Sarah Beise






















Runs March 1-31 (US and Canada only) a Rafflecopter giveaway

Thursday, March 3, 2016

ARC Review: How to catch A Leprechaun

27112416Title: How to Catch a Leprechaun
Author: Adam Wallace
Publisher: Sourcebooks Jabberwocky
Published: Feb. 2, 2016
Pages: 32
Genre: Children ages 3 on up
Review: Paperback from publisher
Buy Links: Amazon, Amazon.uk



You've been planning night and day, and finally you've created the perfect trap! Now all you need to do is wait. Is this the year you'll finally catch the leprechaun? Start a St. Patrick's Day tradition with this fun and lively children's book.
How to catch a leprechaun?
It's tougher than you think!
He'll turn your whole house upside down.
He's quicker than a wink!

Review: Peter Pukeko Colours His Day by Michael Skaggs & Alex Robinson


Title: Peter Pukeko Colours His Day
Author: Michael Skaggs and Alex Robinson
Publisher: AMComix Inc.
Published: Feb. 1, 2016
Pages: 43
Genre: Children ages 2 on up
Review: ebook provided by author
Buy Links: Amazon, Amazon.uk


What do you do on a rainy day, when you're stuck inside and just want to play? Join Peter Pukeko on his amazing journey into the world of imagination and play.

Book includes two delicious muffin recipes for children to make with their parent or caregiver.

Wednesday, March 2, 2016

Review: The Art Detective (This Shape Becomes... Book 1) by Alex Robinson

26632108Title: The Art Detective (This Shape Becomes....)
Author: Alex Robinson
Publisher: AMComix Inc.
Published: Sept. 4, 2015
Genre: Children ages 5 on up
Review: ebook provided by author
Buy Links: Amazon, Amazon.uk



You are an art detective who is about to have the biggest case of your career. A major new exhibition is under threat.

A mysterious artist and an elusive thief will test your abilities to the limits and when you think it's all over, it's just beginning...

A visually appealing interactive book for children who enjoy mysteries and art. It stimulates shape recognition and encourages children to experience a variety of art mediums including Paint programs, Wacom tablets or even just pen and paper.