Friday, September 18, 2015

Blog Tour: Miss Priss

Miss Priss Blog Tour Button

Miss Priss On and Off the CourtTitle: Miss Priss: On and Off the Court
Author: Judy Phillips
Illustrator: Brenda Nichols
Publication Date: August 20, 2015
Publisher: Tadpole Press ...4 Kids (a division of Smooth Sailing Press)
Pages: 230
Recommended Ages: 8 to 12
Summary: Priscilla Penelope Paxton is a witty ten year old whose inter-ests and curiosity land her in, sometimes, sticky situations. Dance classes, Girl Scouts, school assignments, friends and hanging out at her family's drug store, and the local Piggly Wiggly would leave any other person with no time for any-thing else. Yet, the thrill of basketball and joining the Little Dribblers finds its way into Miss Priss' heart. Though this interest will prove to be a dream that requires overcoming the greatest of challenges; Mom’s opposition. A task that will require ingenuity, perseverance and a little help from some loved ones.

Amazon * Smooth Sailing Press * Goodreads

 

MISS PRISS: ON AND OFF THE COURT is book one in the new tween chapter series by Mom’s Choice Award winning writer-illustrator Team, ‘Brenjudy’. On and Off the Court introduces Priscilla Penelope Paxton (Miss Priss), a ten year old whose interests and curiosity land her in, sometimes, sticky situations. A unique coming-of-age story bound to bring giggles and enjoyment to all its readers as Miss Priss encounters and overcomes a slew of challenges, even the one that will continue to grow—self-awareness. The book features full color illustrations.

Book Preview

 

1. Where did you draw your inspiration from for your characters? Brenda (illustrator) grew up fighting for the chance to be on the basketball court. She is the primary model for Miss Priss. Many other characters have strong similarities to persons we know currently, or from past experiences we have refurbished traits to help make up the folks Miss Priss encounters in Kyleville.


2. When did you first start writing your book and when did you finish?
We began in December 2011 drafting the book. SEVERAL drafts/revisions and a change in ownership of Smooth Sailing Press occurred prior to our final draft being accomplished in the summer of 2015. Whew! Lots of blood, sweat and a few tears have been shed in the making of this book.

3. What is the main message you want to convey to your readers in your books?
Never give up on dreams and aspirations even when others express discouragement.

About Being an Author:


1. What has been the best compliment you received as an author?
During the reading of an excerpt of Miss Priss, a 6th grader shouted out, “Hey. Are they gonna make a movie of this book?”

2. What has been the toughest criticism given to you as an author?
“Pretty much, you need to start completely over.” Yep! That happened.

3. What is the best advice you received as an author?
Write what you know. It’s the only way to be truly authentic.

4. How did you celebrate the sale of your first book?
When Beauregard Le’Moose is Loose in New Orleans was released, we held a party for family and friends.

5. If you were a superhero what would your name be, what would be your super-power, and what would be your kryptonite?
Judy: The Humanizer. My super-power is the art of persuasion to be more kind to others. My kryptonite would be Pine Tree Pollen.
Brenda: Captain Encourager: My super-power is energy to make others the best they can be. My kryptonite would be needles (I hate needles of any kind!).


More About Reading and Writing:

1. Which authors have influenced you the most and how?
Judy: I adore Ken Follett, Fanny Flagg, Frank McCourt, John Steinbeck and Robert Frost. I believe Follett and Frost have taught me to make sure to be descriptive in creating realistic settings. They are so masterful with that element. Flagg, and McCourt excel in developing characters who are believable, making use of dialogue perfectly, while Steinbeck is a hero in his boldness to write edgy themes which still are quite shocking today.


2. If you could invite any 5 authors to dinner who would you choose?
We would invite Ken Follett, Ernest Hemingway, Fanny Flagg, John Maxwell, and Frank McCourt.


3. What is your favorite book of all-time (adult)?
Judy: Pillars of the Earth by Ken Follett- It took me a solid year to complete it, and I felt I had lost my best friend as I turned the last page.
Brenda: The Art of War by Sun Tzu- All coaches should read this book.

About the Author: Judy Phillips

Judy PhillipsJudy Phillips is an educator with over twenty years of experience and is currently a counselor at Samuel Houston Elemen-tary School in Huntsville, Texas. She holds a Bachelor of Science degree in Elementary Education from Lamar University in Beaumont, Texas and a Master of Education degree in Coun-seling from Sam Houston State University. Phillips volunteers locally with university students through local ministries and mentor programs.

Twitter | Facebook | Goodreads

   

About the Illustrator: Brenda Nichols

Brenda NicholsBrenda Nichols was born in New Orleans, Louisiana and is an educator at university level, with over twenty years of experience. She is currently the Head Women's Basketball Coach and Professor of Kinesiology at Sam Houston State University in Huntsville, Texas. Nichols holds an Associate of Arts degree from Western Texas College in Snyder, Texas, a Bachelor's degree from Sam Houston State University in Huntsville, Texas, and a Master's degree from The University of West Florida in Pensacola, Florida. Nichols volunteers locally by mentoring students and through motivational speaking engagements at schools and various civic organizations.

Facebook | Goodreads

 

Miss Priss Blog Tour Schedule (2015)

September 15
September 16
September 17
September 18
September 19
September 20
September 21
 

* Blog Tour Giveaway *

MDBR Book Promotion ServicesPrize: One winner will receive a $25 Amazon gift card or $25 PayPal cash prize, winner's choice
  Giveaway ends: September 28, 11:59 pm, 2015
  Open to: Internationally
  How to enter: Please enter using the Rafflecopter widget below.
  Terms and Conditions: NO PURCHASE NECESSARY TO ENTER OR WIN. VOID WHERE PROHIBITED BY LAW. A winner will be randomly drawn through the Rafflecopter widget and will be contacted by email within 48 hours after the giveaway ends. The winner will then have 72 hours to respond. If the winner does not respond within 72 hours, a new draw will take place for a new winner. Odds of winning will vary depending on the number of eligible entries received. This contest is in no way sponsored, endorsed or administered by, or associated with Facebook. This giveaway is sponsored by the publisher, SmoothSailing Press and is hosted and managed by Renee from Mother Daughter Book Reviews. If you have any additional questions – feel free to send and email to Renee(at)MotherDaughterBookReviews(dot)com.
  a Rafflecopter giveaway

Monday, September 14, 2015

Review: Shoo, Fly! You Can't Eat Here by Liller Hamilton

Shoo, Fly! You Can't Eat Here - Liller HamiltonTitle: Shoo, Fly! You Can't Eat Here
Author: Liller Hamilton
Publisher: Outskirts Press
Published: July 23, 2015
Pages: 24
Genre: Children ages 4 on up
Review: Paperback provided by author via Bostick Communications
Buy Links: Amazon, Amazon,uk


He must have been very hungry because... The common housefly is an unwelcome pest that will find its way into your home, school, business, and even the White House to get a meal. But the kindergarten students in Shoo, Fly! are determined not to share their well-balanced lunches with a hungry fly! Children will enjoy reading this delightfully illustrated book on their own, and they will especially love it when you read the story to them and emulate the voice and action of each child. Shoo, Fly! also offers an opportunity for open-ended and critical-thinking discussion questions.

Sunday, September 13, 2015

Review: I Was a Third Grade Spy by Mary Jane Auch

645975Title: I Was a Third Grade Spy
Author: Mary Jane Auch
Publisher: Yearling
Published: Jan. 14, 2013
Pages: 96
Genre: Children ages 8 on up
Review: Paperback from Library
Buy Links: Amazon, Amazon.uk 


Believe it or not–and you better believe it–Josh’s dog Arful can talk! This is very useful to Josh and his pals who want to win the school talent contest. First the boys have to find out what the girls are planning for the contest. That’s when they send Arful to get an earful by spying on the girls. Just wait until show time to see what Arful the spy uncovers.


I picked this book out for K from the library as it seemed that it might hold his attention. I knew it was a chapter book so I was interested to see how he would have liked it. 
I was impressed that he wanted to continue reading it night after night. We only read about three to four chapters a night and they were really short so that was easy for us to stop and pick up again the next day. 
This book is about a dog named Arful who can talk the boys Brian, Josh and Dougie don't want everyone to know so they try to keep it hush hush. When there is a school talent contest that will be happening the boys think that if Arful can find out from the girls what they are doing it will better their chances at winning. 
It is a bunch of laughter trying to get Arful to follow directions and seeing the different ideas the boys come up with. 

K said he liked the story and thought a talking dog was funny. When asked if he would like a talking dog he said "no because that would be weird." His favorite parts was the whole thing because Arful made it funny. He is wanting to read more from this author so I am hoping our library has more for us to read.


Sunday, September 6, 2015

Review: I Like Candy - (A Buster Book) by Shano

19087704Title: I like Candy
Author: Shano
Publisher: Publishing111.com
Published: Dec. 22, 2012
Genre: Children Ages 3 on up
Review: ebook
Buy Links: Amazon, Amazon.uk 



So this was an okay book. I thought K would enjoy it being as he enjoys eating candy even though it isn't too much. Buster is a dog who enjoys candy so much and even believes candy to be his best friend. The rhyming reminded me in a way of Dr. Seuss Green Eggs and Ham.
The reason I gave his book a three is because there wasn't really a story to it. All it was, was rhyming.
The book starts off with "I like candy" " I like candy" " I like it a lot" then precedes to describe how Buster likes to eat candy. K told me at the end of the book that for him it was boring even though he did like the pictures.
A on the other hand being three it was easier to read to her as it was simple words and held her attention more. I say this book is for the younger children to enjoy more than a 9 year old. 


Review: Squidge: Little Elf, Little Bear by Andrew Thomas

13346167Title: Squidge Little Elf, Little Bear
Author: Andrew Thomas
Published: Dec. 8, 2011
Publisher: Proving House
Pages: 34
Genre: Children Ages 7 on up
Review: ebook
Buy Links: Amazon, Amzon.uk 



I was glad this book was free on Amazon. I thought maybe K would like it being as it has an elf and a bear. He just didn't seem to get into it. I think this book was the longest 34 pages we have ever read at bedtime, by that I mean it took almost a week to finish it which isn't normal. 
I think the only thing K liked out of the book was the joke about the hare and the brush after it was explained to him. 
You have this little Elf named Squidge who ends up finding a lost little polar bear it is up to him to find his mother even though they don't know where to look. Both the little elf and the little polar bear learn to rely on each other and work together.
When the momma polar bear is found which I thought was a good thing I kind of wondered where she was at and why wasn't she looking for her baby as well. Of course I have to tell myself it is a book so sometimes it might not make sense. 
K thought it would have more pictures in it than it did and so that is why he didn't like it, plus it was so long. He also didn't understand how the little elf didn't know that a polar bear eats fish. That for me was kind of hard to explain in a sense. 
We may try another Squidge book that is sitting on our library to see if maybe another one may catch his eye. But for now this one just did not do the trick. 



Review: Where Do They Go When It Rains?: Children's book, Bedtime Story, kids book collection, Education, Early/Beginning Readers, Funny Humor ebook, Rhyming Book, Picture book by Helen H. Wu

26122980Title: Where Do They Go When It Rains?
Author:  Helen H. Wu
Published: Aug. 16, 2015
Publisher: Self
Pages: 34
Genre: Children Baby to 4
Review: ebook
Buy Links: Amazon, Amazon.uk



I read this book to A and she seemed to enjoy it at bedtime. She liked saying all the different animals that we read about. 
Marcus the monkey is on his way home when it starts raining at first it just sprinkles then it really starts coming down. As it is raining Marcus noticed that the animals are all trying to find shelter, but where do they find it at. All animals have their own place ants have anthills, birds have nests and so forth. The illustrations are done beautifully and I do believe that young child will love not only the pictures but learning where different animals go when it rains. 
When the rain does eventually stop there is a surprise for all to see.
Great book for young children and especially fun to read at bedtime.


Review: The Adventures of Monte: Monte Travels the Rainforest by D.J. Thomas

24443380Title: The Adventures of Monte: Monte Travels the Rainforst
Author: D.J. Thomas
Published: Jan. 6, 2015
Publisher: Self
Pages: 25
Genre: Children ages 3-9
Review: ebook provided by author
Buy Links: Amazon, Amazon.uk 










We received this book to give an honest review.
K loves anything to do with animals so when we got asked to review this book I knew K would enjoy it. We follow Monte as he travels the rain forest in Africa to take pictures of a variety of animals. We get a lot of information about the different animals that live there, K pretty much knew all the information but it was still enjoyable to read. The pictures are real looking of each animal and the story is fun and great to follow. 
We get to find out what different animals diet consist of, if they are nocturnal, and what they look like plenty of fun facts. I do think kids of all ages will enjoy this book. I read it to A and she just liked looking at the pictures which worked for us. 
I hope to see more of this author's work and see what else he can bring us from different places.