Thursday, July 31, 2014

Review: Incredible Lizards (Exploring Our Incredible World) by Mark Smith

17370640
Animal books for kids can be one of the best ways to teach young children about the many creatures that call our planet home. In this fully illustrated picture book, best selling children's book author Mark Smith shows children what makes lizards so incredible.
Kids will learn what lizards eat, where lizards live and what makes lizards different from every other animal on our incredible planet. It is all about exploration and learning in a fun way.
Your children will love the full color photographs that spring to life on every model of the Kindle. Ten beautiful lizards are featured with facts, color photos and more. Children will consider themselves experts on lizards when they finish reading this fun filled lizard book for kids.

Review: Tour Your Heart On The Heart Shuttle Express. A Children's Book About How The Heart Works by Maura Kempa

20656415
Board the Heart Shuttle Express to take an amazing tour of your heart; your heart is the most important muscle in your body! Check your tickets, you and your child will board at Gate 1-Superior Vena Cava Street or Gate 2-Inferior Vena Cava Street. These streets are the main highways into the heart.

While on the shuttle, Mr. Heart Power will explain how the heart works to provide you all you the vitamins, minerals and nutrients that you need everyday to provide you with energy to do all your activities. The ride will be smooth provided there is no litter on the highways.

When the shuttle has completed its' trip you will be directed to the Happy Heart Cafe for a healthy snack. Here, you will learn how to keep your heart healthy. This book is targeted for children that are in the 4th grade or higher. Get on board, fasten your seat belts and enjoy your fascinating tour of the heart!

Review: Kids First Book - Mammals to Know by Dwight Kuhn, David Kuhn, Brian Kuhn

20745600
English - Spanish Edition
This book is intended to provide visual and word identification of mammals every child should know.
Build a child's vocabulary and start to develop word and picture association with this animal book. English and Spanish words help children learn the animal names in both languages. Also in this series are books on birds, insects, amphibians and reptiles, other animals, and plants. This is a perfect book series for kids who love animals and nature!
We strive to make our books unique and we design them from the ground up. The Galloping Turtle books are created by educators and illustrated with photos from professional photographers.
Galloping Turtle's photographer, Dwight Kuhn, has published more than 167 children's books on nature and biology subjects. Many of his books have been awarding winning titles. Kuhn was one of ten photographers featured in the book: Wildlife Photography - The Art and Technique of Ten Masters.
For the price of a single cup of coffee and a pastry you can help educate and provide lasting entertainment for a beginning reader.

Review: Don't Judge a Lizard by His Scales Dan Dugi, Bli Marston Dugi

20948831
Everyone knows that lizards eat flies, but Bli the Fly and Danny the Wizard Lizard are willing to put their differences aside to become the best of friends.

Danny the Wizard Lizard goes on a fly-free diet as he sets out to prove that he is not like all the other lizards. During their quest for friendship, Danny the Wizard Lizard and Bli the Fly encounter the Lousy Lizard Gang, a no-good group of bullies. Danny the Wizard Lizard gives the first glimpse into why he is a Wizard Lizard by exhibiting special powers to stop the bullying that goes on at the movie theater. Witnessing his heroic act, Bli the Fly’s mother, Mrs. Fly, realizes that she misjudged this lizard, and Bli the Fly gets her first lesson in giving second chances.
Don’t Judge a Lizard by His Scales, Book One in The Principle Gangseries by Dr. Dan and Bli Dugi, delivers lessons in anti-bullying, prejudice, and the value of friendships. The Principle Gang series introduces the foundational principles that guide families, relationships, and communities.

Book Blast and Giveaway: Hero's Sword series by M.E. Sutton

Hero's Sword by M.E. Sutton

 

Book 1:

Power Play - Heros Sword - Book 1 by M.E. SuttonTitle: Power Play (Hero's Sword Book #1) 
Author: M.E. Sutton 
Year published: November 20, 2012 
Publisher: Delabarre Publishing, LLC 
Number of pages: 64 
Recommended age: 8 to12
Summary: All Jaycee Hiller wants to do is survive eighth grade. Mostly that means hanging with her friend, Stu, avoiding the cheerleading squad, secretly crushing on Nate Fletcher, and playing her favorite video game, Hero’s Sword.
When she receives a new video game controller, Jaycee finds herself magically transported into the Hero's Sword video game world. Survival takes on a whole new meaning. No longer battling with a plastic joystick, Jaycee picks up a real sword and bow & arrow and readies herself for battle. Can she save Lady Starla's rule in Mallory, keep herself in one piece, and maybe even learn something about surviving middle school? Kids will love this fast-paced adventure novel and will cheer along with Jaycee's thrilling adventures. What kid hasn't dreamed of actually fighting and battling the villains in their favorite video games? Jaycee finds out if she has what it takes - and what she learns in the fantasy realm of Mallory impacts her mundane, middle school life in unexpected ways. Purchase:

Amazon * Barnes & Noble * Kobo * iBookstore * Goodreads

 

Book 2:

Storm Clouds - Heros Sword - Book 2 by M.E. SuttonTitle: Storm Clouds (Hero's Sword Book 2)
Author: M.E. Sutton
Publication Date: November 7, 2013
Publisher: Delabarre Publishing, LLC
Number of pages: 76
Recommended age: 8 to 12
Summary: Eighth-grader Jaycee Hiller is beginning to fear she only imagined her trip to Mallory. But when a rainy afternoon leaves her with hours of playing Hero's Sword, her favorite video game, she finds herself drawn back into the game - literally.
STORM CLOUDS is the exciting second volume of the HERO'S SWORD saga - chronicling Jaycee Hiller's trials in eight grade, and her exciting adventures in Mallory, the setting of her favorite video game. Jaycee enters the video game realm via a special controller and is caught up in the action of this fantasy realm. In STORM CLOUDS, a valuable jewel belonging to the neighboring estate of Devin, the Sapphire Star, is missing, stolen at the Spring Consortium. Lady Starla stands accused of the theft. Devin's demands are clear: return the Star or they will take it back by force. Now it's up to Lyla Stormbringer to find the Star and the thief. before Mallory finds itself at war. Purchase:

Amazon * Barnes and Noble * Kobo

iBookstore * Createspace * Goodreads

 

Book 3:

Wedding Bliss - Heros Sword - Book 3 by M.E. SuttonTitle: Wedding Bliss (Hero's Sword Book 3)
Author: M.E. Sutton
Publication Date: July 17, 2014
Publisher: Delabarre Publishing, LLC
Number of pages: 74
Recommended age: 9 to 12
Summary: Jaycee Hiller (aka Lyle Stormbringer) has long sensed that Roger and Lady Starla belong together. When handsome and noble Perry Goodhaven shows up and wins Lady Starla's affection, at first glance it seems a more fitting match.
However, those close to Lady Starla notice alarming changes after Perry's arrival - Starla sleeps more often, is often lethargic when she is awake, and begins to defer important decisions to Perry. With Roger falsely imprisoned, it's up to Lyla Stormbringer to uncover the truth about the man positioning himself to rule Mallory with an iron fist. WEDDING BLISS is the exciting third adventure of the HERO'S SWORD saga - chronicling Jaycee Hiller's trials in eighth grade, and her exciting adventures in Mallory, the setting of her favorite video game. Purchase:

Amazon

 

The Buzz About the Books

Book 1: "Power Play: Hero’s Sword (Vol. 1) features a relatable main character, fast-paced action, devious enemies, and an exciting plot that will absolutely capture the intended audience’s imagination. I think (and my daughter fully agrees!) that M.E. Sutton has hit on a winning series. I highly recommend Power Play: Hero’s Sword to all tweens, but to reluctant readers in particular, due to the ease of language, the video game setting, and the fast pace and physical length of the book at 64 pages." ~ Renee @ Mother Daughter Book Reviews
Book 1: "This is a fantastic read to inspire kids against giving up as well as keep their imaginations going because I totally see my son imagining this happening to him as he runs through the house with his sword (could be anything from wrapping paper roll to a stick) noises like he is in a sword fight. I can't wait to finish reading it with him & continuing the series." ~ Cassandra Lost in Books
Book 1: "This is a quick and fun read. The language is simple, so it is perfect for the intended audience of a middle grade child. It is full of action and I think kids will love the concept of falling into their favorite video game and living out the fantasy. "~ Bookworm Lisa
Book 2: "This second installment is even better than the first. The storyline has more depth, and more imagery to go along with this tale of adventure, drama, and even a little bit of fairy tale romance. I became more fascinated by the main cast of characters, cementing my interest in this awesome series. The writing style is spot-on for a middle grade adventure, and there is enough action, suspense, and mystery to keep the reader flipping the pages to find out what happens next. I highly recommend this series to fans of middle grade fantasy and video games. I definitely look forward to reading more by this author. " ~ Toni @ My Book Addiction
Book 2: "This is such a fun series! My ten year old and I thoroughly enjoyed reading these together. I think it’s really special when you can find something worthwhile to read together. " ~ Brooke Blogs
Book 2: "I think many middle grade kids will enjoy reading about a kid their age falling into their favorite video game and living out the fantasy. It is perfect for kids who enjoy using their imaginations to escape the real world at times (and better to read about video games than to spend all day playing them!)" ~ Susan @ Mom Loves 2 Read
 

About the Author: M.E. Sutton

Mary SuttonMary Sutton has been making up stories, and creating her own endings for other people's stories, for as long as she can remember. After ten years, she decided that making things up was far more satisfying than writing software manuals, and took the jump into fiction. She writes the HERO'S SWORD middle-grade fantasy series as M.E. Sutton and finds a lot of inspiration in the lives of her own kids. A lifelong mystery fan, she also writes crime fiction, including THE LAUREL HIGHLANDS MYSTERIES, under the pen name Liz Milliron. Her short fiction has been published at Uppagus.com, Mystericale.com (Fall 2013), and in LUCKY CHARMS: 12 CRIME TALES (December 2013).  

Website * Blog * Twitter * Facebook * Goodreads * Google+

 

* $25 Book Blast Giveaway *

Amazon 25 gift card Prize: $25 Amazon Gift Card or PayPal cash (winner’s choice) Contest ends: August 29, 11:59 pm, 2014 Open: Internationally How to enter: Please enter using the Rafflecopter widget below. Terms and Conditions: NO PURCHASE NECESSARY TO ENTER OR WIN. VOID WHERE PROHIBITED BY LAW. The winner will be randomly drawn through the Rafflecopter widget and will be contacted by email within 48 hours after the giveaway ends. The winner will then have 72 hours to respond. If a winner does not respond within 72 hours, a new draw will take place for a new winner. Odds of winning will vary depending on the number of eligible entries received. This contest is in no way sponsored, endorsed or administered by, or associated with Facebook. This giveaway is sponsored by the author, Mary Sutton and is hosted and managed by Renee from Mother Daughter Book Reviews. If you have any additional questions – feel free to send and email to Renee(at)MotherDaughterBookReviews(dot)com. a Rafflecopter giveaway MDBR Book Promotion Services  

Wednesday, July 30, 2014

Book Blast and GIVEAWAY: The Pen Pieyu Adventures by Diane Mae Robinson

Pen Pieyu Diane Mae Robinson

 

Book 1:

Sir princess petra pen pieyu adventuresTitle: Sir Princess Petra (The Pen Pieyu Adventures Book #1) 
Author: Diane Mae Robinson 
Year published: 2012 
Publisher: Tate Publishing 
Number of pages: 68 
Recommended age: 5+
Summary: Princess Petra's unusual birthday request sends the royal court into a frenzy, but when she agrees to undertake a knight's quest they can't stop her. Armed with a cake knife and outfitted in the best royal pots and pans, Petra sets off to face a dragon and win her real armor before encountering a bog witch, and an army of the kingdom's worst enemies. Will Petra's kindness and acceptance prove to be more valuable than weapons and armor?
 
Awards for book one, Sir Princess Petra:
2012 Lieutenant Governor of Alberta Emerging Artist Award (Literary Arts). 2012 First Runner Up in the Purple Dragonfly Book Award in the Children's Chapter Book category 2013 Honorable Mention in the Reader's Favorite International Book Awards 2013 Finalist in the “50 Great Writers You Should be Reading” Award
Purchase:

Amazon * Barnes & Noble * Tate Publishing * Goodreads

  Video Preview (Book 1):  

Book 2:

Sir Princess Petra's Talent by Diane Mae RobinsonTitle: Sir Princess Petra's Talent (The Pen Pieyu Adventures Book 2) Author: Diane Mae Robinson
Publication Date: September 24, 2013
Publisher: Tate Publishing
Number of pages: 92
Recommended age: Read-aloud ~ 5+
Summary: Sir Princess Petra has already proven she is a kind and noble knight. This, however, does not please the king and queen---they want her to behave like a princess and forget this silly knight nonsense of hers! But when the king writes a new rule in the royal rule book that requires her to attend Talent School and acquire a princess talent certificate or suffer the spell of the royal magician, Petra, reluctantly, agrees to go. But who could have guessed what Sir Princess Petra’s Talent would be?
   
Awards for book two, Sir Princess Petra's Talent:
2014 Readers' Favorite International Book Awards, finalist in three categories:
Children's Fantasy SciFi Children's Grade K - 3rd Children's Grade 4- 6th
Purchase:

Amazon * Barnes and Noble * Tate Publishing * Goodreads

  Video Preview Book 2:  

The Buzz About the Books

Book 1: "I really feel that this little book is a gem. It is a relatively short book (70-ish pages) that can easily be read aloud to children in one sitting. My kids and I were completely captivated by this fun, adventure-filled tale about a very charming and unorthodox princess. I highly recommend this book to families with children under the age of 10 and as young as 5 who love a good tale filled with fairy-tale characters such as dragons, witches, princesses, and knights." ~ Renee @ Mother Daughter Book Reviews
Book 1: "I liked this book because it has a great story line and a great message about believing in yourself. Petra proves that she and all girls can be daring, adventurous and brave. I think Petra was a great character and I liked Snarls (the dragon) even better because he had good sense and dragons are just cool. The book is a beginning chapter book so there isn't a lot of details in it but it tells a complete story. The black and white illustrations in the book are really great too. The book is part of "The Pen Pieyu Adventures." I hope that means there will be more books about Petra coming out! This book is an awesome beginning chapter book and a great read aloud." ~ Erik @ This Kid Reviews Books
Book 1: "Sir Princess Petra is one of those stories that will appeal to most everyone. It is charmingly funny. Petra sets out to prove she has what it takes to be a royal knight and proves she can do nearly anything. Snarls, the howling dragon, is endearing and lovable. If stuffed, sitting on a toy store shelf, every kid would want him. The story is short enough to be read in one sitting, say at bedtime. There are many opportunities for humorous, wacky, high-pitched voices, making Sir Princess Petra fun to read aloud. The author's imagination is appropriately childlike. Petra is a child every parent will love. I know a child would have sweet, funny dreams after hearing mom or dad read this at bedtime."~ Sue M. @ Kid Lit Reviews
Book 2: "Sir Princess Petra's Talent is precisely everything an early middle grade book should be with a multi-dimensional main character who is a great role model for young girls; a great supporting cast of unique and quirky characters; a plot largely driven through clever dialogue amongst the characters and involving much adventure and folly; and unexpected turns and twists that willleave parents and their children laughing out loud. " ~ Renee @ Mother Daughter Book Reviews
Book 2: "This is an adventurous story, which gets going from the very first page and doesn't stop. The characters are all enjoyable, and the situations, although sometimes challenging for Princess Petra, are very appropriate for the age group." ~ Tonja @ Bookworm for Kids
Book 2: "The[se books] are early chapter books, fun and suitable for children ages six and up. They move very quickly and are quite short, so I think they’d be particularly suitable for reluctant readers. I also think boys would enjoy these books as Sir Princess Petra thinks and behaves in the way I imagine most boys wish girls would think and behave – kind, down-to-earth, adventurous, and never squeamish or manipulative." ~ Tina @ Mommynificent
 

About the Author: Diane Mae Robinson

Diane Mae Robinson Diane lives in a small hilltop castle nestled amongst a very old and magical forest. In this mystical forest, all the fantasy creatures one can imagine live and audition for parts in the author’s next book. Diane has a journalism diploma from the Schools of Montreal and an advanced diploma from the Institute of Children’s Literature. The author also teaches acrylic and watercolor art to children, and is a writing instructor at the Creative Writing Institute. The author’s first book in this series, Sir Princess Petra, has won three prestigious awards, and was a finalist for another award. The author recently acquired an agent with Gotham Artists Agency in New York.

Website * Blog * Twitter * Facebook * Goodreads * LinkedIn * Google+

 

* $50 Book Blast Giveaway *

Amazon $50 Gift Card Prize: $50 Amazon Gift Card or PayPal cash (winner’s choice) + BONUS SECOND PRIZE = Hardcover copies of both The Pen Pieyu Adventures Books by Diane Mae Robinson Contest ends: August 28, 11:59 pm, 2014 Open: Internationally How to enter: Please enter using the Rafflecopter widget below. Terms and Conditions: NO PURCHASE NECESSARY TO ENTER OR WIN. VOID WHERE PROHIBITED BY LAW. The winners will be randomly drawn through the Rafflecopter widget and will be contacted by email within 48 hours after the giveaway ends. The winners will then have 72 hours to respond. If a winner does not respond within 72 hours, a new draw will take place for a new winner. Odds of winning will vary depending on the number of eligible entries received. This contest is in no way sponsored, endorsed or administered by, or associated with Facebook. This giveaway is sponsored by the author, Diane Mae Robinson and is hosted and managed by Renee from Mother Daughter Book Reviews. If you have any additional questions – feel free to send and email to Renee(at)MotherDaughterBookReviews(dot)com. a Rafflecopter giveaway MDBR Book Promotion Services

Friday, July 25, 2014

Review: Busy Machines by Peter Lawson

13411177
Busy Machines have lots of work to do, on the building site, at the farm and around the town. This book teaches toddlers and young children all about the Busy Machines and their drivers using bright colorful illustrations and simple clear text. At the end of the book there's a mix and match quiz for the reader to test what they've learnt.

Review: No Way to Haircut Day! by Flo Barnett

15792321
No Way to Haircut Day!, a Top 20 Kindle Bestseller in the Children's ebook "humor" genre, a featured "Amazon Hot New Release" title for June, and the NUMBER 1 "Amazon Hot New Release" for July! Specially priced for a limited time

Book Blast and GIVEAWAY: Have You Seen My Tail? By Kathryn Harper

Have You Seen My Tail? by Kathryn Harper

Title: Have You Seen My Tail? (Katie-Jane, Book #2) 
Author & Illustrator: Kathryn Harper 
Publication Date: July, 2014 
Publisher: Green Cup Publishing 
Pages: 36 
Recommended Ages: 3 to 8 Summary: Anyone who has ever struggled to accept - or longed to experience - change of any kind will be able to relate to Katie-Jane's second story, "Have You Seen My Tail?" Using rhyming verse, and laugh-out-loud moments, Katie-Jane begins this story feeling bored. She is surprised and shocked as she meets a butterfly, a frog and a snake; who are all struggling to accept the recent big changes in their lives. Different perspectives help all four characters to accept their own situations, and embrace change in the way life offers it to them. "Have You Seen My Tail?" is the second book in the six-part Katie-Jane series, designed to encourage the reader to 'be the very best version of you.'    

Sneak Peek

Have You Seen My Tail? by Kathrn Harper - Inside Page  

Purchase

Amazon | Book Website

You can also purchase the first book in the Katie-Jane Series, "Am I a Chameleon?" by clicking the book cover below: Am I a Chameleon by Kathrn Harper  

Early Buzz About the Book

"Author Kathryn Harper offers insightful questions and answers at the end of the book explaining how she feels about change. I love how these insightful thoughts give the reader a chance to verbalize their own feelings. Like her other books, the illustrations are beautiful and vivid. Each of the animals has a wonderfully rich texture, color, and personality. The Katie-Jane books continue to not disappoint, I look forward to seeing the next books in the series." ~ 5 Star Review, Katherine R., Amazon
"Katie-Jane is a very sweet character in "Have You Seen My Tail?" She helps to explain change in a gentle and unsuspecting way. This is the second book in the series for Author, Kathryn Harper. She writes a relatable story that children all over the world can grasp and understand. " ~ 5 Star Review, Mary Jo P., Amazon
 

About the Author: Kathryn Harper

Kathryn HarperI have always loved to write, draw and create, but my books are inspired by more than my love for their medium. As a child I was selective mute. Both my struggles and my breakthroughs are a source of inspiration toward creating Katie-Jane and her stories. I grew up in the UK, after living in Johannesburg between the ages of two and five. Today I live in Wanaka, New Zealand, with my two gorgeous children and partner, Simon. I feel incredibly lucky to be able to call this place home, where an adventure can begin every time we step outside.

Website | Facebook | Goodreads

 

* $25 Book Blast Giveaway *

Amazon 25 gift card Prize: $25 Amazon Gift Card or PayPal cash (winner’s choice) Contest ends: August 21, 11:59 pm, 2014 Open: Internationally How to enter: Please enter using the Rafflecopter widget below. Terms and Conditions: NO PURCHASE NECESSARY TO ENTER OR WIN. VOID WHERE PROHIBITED BY LAW. A winner will be randomly drawn through the Rafflecopter widget and will be contacted by email within 48 hours after the giveaway ends. The winner will then have 72 hours to respond. If the winner does not respond within 72 hours, a new draw will take place for a new winner. Odds of winning will vary depending on the number of eligible entries received. This contest is in no way sponsored, endorsed or administered by, or associated with Facebook. This giveaway is sponsored by the author, Kathryn Harper and is hosted and managed by Renee from Mother Daughter Book Reviews. If you have any additional questions – feel free to send and email to Renee(at)MotherDaughterBookReviews(dot)com. a Rafflecopter giveaway MDBR Book Promotion Services

Tuesday, July 22, 2014

Review: Snakes! (National Geographic Readers) by Melissa Stewart

6928850
They’re SSSSLITHERY! SLIPPERY! They creep us out! But get to know them and you’ll find snakes private, quiet types who just want a cool, shady place to call home. From the tip of their forked tongues, to skin that sheds, to the rattles on certain tails, these creatures have secrets all kids will love. Cool photos and fun facts slip us inside their surprising world.

Review: Garter Snakes (First Facts) by Van Wallach

4709787
Quick and slithery, snakes are fascinating examples of adaptation. Discover the bodies, homes, and life cycles of these reptiles through close-up photos. Get closer than you ve ever been to snakes!"

Review: Working Horses by Mary Packard

14498484
A horse's great physical strength yet peaceful nature has made it man's ideal working partner throughout history. From taming the Wild West to herding cattle, horses have helped people overcome their biggest challenges. In rich narrative detail, Working Horses details how these gentle giants have played a role in almost every part of our work lives, from hauling logs and heavy farm machinery to performing for audiences. Shouldering our heaviest burdens, horses have transported everything from royal chariots to covered wagons. Is it any wonder that even today an engine's strength is measured in horsepower?

Review: Baby Owl's Rescue by Jennifer Keats Curtis


6871340

What if you found a baby owl in your back yard? Would you know what to do? Where would you go to find help? Join young Maddie and Max as they learn a valuable lesson from a little lost owl in Baby Owl's Rescue by Jennifer Keats Curtis. The brother and sister pair just wanted to play baseball one day. They never expected to come face-to-face with a wild animal! Lush illustrations by Laura Jacques accompany this story and demonstrate the proper treatment of wildlife. This story reminds all of us that we live in a world surrounded by wild animals, and those wild animals deserve our caution and our respect!

Sunday, July 20, 2014

Review: MARY: The Summoning (Bloody Mary #1) by Hillary Monahan

17661402There is a right way and a wrong way to summon her. 

Jess had done the research. Success requires precision: a dark room, a mirror, a candle, salt, and four teenage girls. Each of them--Jess, Shauna, Kitty, and Anna--must link hands, follow the rules . . . and never let go. 

A thrilling fear spins around the room the first time Jess calls her name: "Bloody Mary. Bloody Mary. BLOODY MARY." A ripple of terror follows when a shadowy silhouette emerges through the fog, a specter trapped behind the mirror. 

Once is not enough, though--at least not for Jess. Mary is called again. And again. But when their summoning circle is broken, Bloody Mary slips through the glass with a taste for revenge on her lips. As the girls struggle to escape Mary's wrath, loyalties are questioned, friendships are torn apart, and lives are forever altered.

A haunting trail of clues leads Shauna on a desperate search to uncover the legacy of Mary Worth. What she finds will change everything, but will it be enough to stop Mary--and Jess--before it's too late?

Thursday, July 17, 2014

Review: Uninvited Guests: Invisible Creatures Lurking in Your Home by Jennifer Swanson

11334605
Your parents may be gone, but you're still not home alone. From sneeze causing mold to fabric eating moths, take a look at the tiny uninvited guests keeping you company at home.

Review: Chick: See How They Grow (See How They Grow) by Angela Royston

4797581
These books take a first look at baby animals for young readers. The layout is clear and simple and the pictures bright and colourful. Low level text helps children to recognise words and phonics for early reading skills.

Review: Wheels and Axles by Kay Manolis

14526566
We use wheels and axles every day. Young readers will learn how a wheel and axle work together, how they make work easier, and how they are used in larger machines!

Saturday, July 12, 2014

Book Blast and GIVEAWAY: Billy and the Monster Who Loved to Fart by David Chuka

Billy and the Monster Who Loved to Fart by David Chuka

Title: Billy and The Monster Who Loved to Fart
Author: David Chuka
Publication Date: January 31, 2013 
Publisher: Pen-n-a-Pad Publishing
Pages: 34 
Recommended Ages: 3 to 8
Summary: In the first book in this epic tale, we discover that Billy loves Monster and Monster loves Billy. They play together. They have a bath together.They even go to school together. There's just one thing that threatens to spoil their friendship. Monster loves to Fart!...and everyone blames Billy for it! Will Monster make Billy the uncoolest kid at school? Will Monster cause an irreparable hole in the Ozone layer? Will Monster and Billy both learn how to behave properly in a social environment? Get your copy today and enjoy this funny book for kids (and also adults), that's not just big on laughs but also teaches a valuable lesson for social situations.  

* Get Your Copy for ~ FREE ~ *

* You can download an electronic copy of "Billy and the Monster Who Loved to Fart"for FREE on the following platforms! *

Amazon | Barnes and Noble | Smashwords | Kobo | Scribd

 

The Buzz About the Book

"One of the aspects that makes the little children's books by David Chuka so endearing is that he enters territory and vocabulary that in other circumstances would be either verboten or at least judged inappropriate. But instead of writing a story of questionable taste, Chuka creates some hilarious situations and then makes a point of allowing learning from them...Chuka's drawings match the joy of his story and once again he has written a brave little book that will greatly appeal to kids - and to their parents! Very high quality work from David Chuka." ~ 5 Star Review, Grady Harp, Top 100 Reviewer, Amazon
"Yes dear readers kids now have a new friend called the Fart Monster. A buddy that lets them off the hook big time. In this imaginative story by David Chuka your child's imagination will leap to new bounds in giving kids cover for what comes so naturally. The great thing about this is you don't have to hold your nose to enjoy a fun story that is sure to have you and child laughing out loud." ~ 5 Star Review, StevieV, Amazon
"I laughed all the way through this story. I know that boys think farting is funny and I'm sure my grands will love this picture book. Of course us adults have to use some animation, so we can join in the fun. The pictures rock with this simple story, and there are some problem solving discussed and shared with another character. However, the overall problem is, 'Billy is getting blamed for something you didn't do'. In the end the problem is solved and the relationship is forever. Job well done. I'm still laughing. " ~ 5 Star Review, Amazon Customer, Amazon
"This is a not too serious book for kids who love to LAUGH OUT LOUD. I bought it for my nephew and he laughed and laughed and I had to ask him twice to get my IPAD back. But anyway, The book is funny with lots of illustrations that kids love. The illustrations are really good and captivating for a young audience. Not only that the book also gives a moral story at the end of the book. It teaches kids discipline and manners, which is something very valuable in today's society. Overall good book." ~ 5 Star Review, Jomy K., Amazon
"THIS BOOK IS HILARIOUS! My 8 year old son stated. He highly recommends it, and also poses the age old question: "Why does Monster keep farting?" " ~ 5 Star Review, Bkustom, Amazon
 

About the Author: David Chuka

David ChukaDavid Chuka lives in London with his lovely wife and two adorable children. His family are usually the first people to hear his funny and quirky tales. He was inspired to write his first book, 'If You See a Doctor' after he struggled to find a book for his daughter who was a beginner reader. He's gone on to write more books including the popular 'Billy and Monster' series, a funny set of books about a little boy and his Monster who get into all sorts of funny situations and learn about moderation, friendship, self control, bravery etc. Young children can relate to Billy and you'll love sharing his adventures with your children, grandchildren and loved ones. As a father himself, he has parents at heart when he writes. He recognizes that bedtime has to be one of the best parts of the day for parents and grandparents as it gives them the opportunity to bond with their little ones. He believes you'll enjoy sharing his stories with your loved ones at bedtime. In David Chuka's books, you can stay rest assured that quality and captivating images will always complement the story to ensure your loved ones are spell-bound as you read to them. Beginner readers will also enjoy discovering new words as they read his books. He would like to keep you updated on what he's working on and any giveaways he currenty has on offer. Please subscribe to his newsletter at www.davidchuka.com and you'll get a FREE Coloring and Activity book for your loved ones. Make sure to watch the video trailers for his most popular books on this Amazon Page and you'll get a little taste of why his books have garnered more than 300 glowing reviews. He has so many stories to tell and can't wait to share them with you and your loved ones.

Website | Twitter | Facebook | Goodreads

Google+ | Pinterest | Amazon Author Page

 

* $25 Book Blast Giveaway *

Amazon 25 gift card Prize: One winner will receive a $25 Amazon Gift Card or PayPal cash (winner’s choice) Contest ends: August 9, 11:59 pm, 2014 Open: Internationally How to enter: Please enter using the Rafflecopter widget below. Terms and Conditions: NO PURCHASE NECESSARY TO ENTER OR WIN. VOID WHERE PROHIBITED BY LAW. A winner will be randomly drawn through the Rafflecopter widget and will be contacted by email within 48 hours after the giveaway ends. The winner will then have 72 hours to respond. If the winner does not respond within 72 hours, a new draw will take place for a new winner. Odds of winning will vary depending on the number of eligible entries received. This contest is in no way sponsored, endorsed or administered by, or associated with Facebook. This giveaway is sponsored by the author, David Chuka and is hosted and managed by Renee from Mother Daughter Book Reviews. If you have any additional questions – feel free to send and email to Renee(at)MotherDaughterBookReviews(dot)com. a Rafflecopter giveaway MDBR Book Promotion Services

Wednesday, July 9, 2014

Book Blast and GIVEAWAY: The Maisy Files and the Missing Mice by Elizabeth Woodrum

 Mother Daughter Book Reviews is pleased to be coordinating a Book Blast for the first book in The Maisy Files mystery chapter book series by Elizabeth Woodrum, "Maisy and the Missing Mice". Book 2 in the series, "Maisy and the Money Marauder" is coming August, 2014. If you haven't checked out Book 1, you can grab a copy for only 99 cents from Amazon!
 

Maisy and the Missing Mice

Title: Maisy and the Missing Mice (The Maisy Files)
Author: Elizabeth Woodrum 
Publication Date: September 24, 2013 
Publisher: Independent | Pages: 75
Recommended Ages: 6 to 10
Summary: Maisy Sawyer is not your average fourth grade student. She is a detective with a special skill for solving mysteries. She loves black and white mystery movies, cherry lollipops, and her dog, Reesie. When a thief known as The Black Boot steals the school's mascots and her lollipops, Maisy sets out to solve the case. Can she help return the mice to their home in the science lab? Will she ever see her beloved lollipops again? Find out in the first book in The Maisy Files series.







    

Sneak Peek

 

PURCHASE FOR 99 CENTS

amazon buy button  

The Buzz About the Book

"Maisy and the Missing Mice is a fun chapter book featuring a smart and sassy tween girl as the title character; a solid and interesting plot featuring age-appropriate intrigue and suspense; and some terrific writing that carries the reader on a journey as a detective uncovering clues and solving the mystery of who stole the missing mice. I highly recommend this book as a read aloud book for children between the ages of 6 and 10 or for independent readers between the ages of 7 and 12 who love to read mysteries." ~ Renee, Mother Daughter Book Reviews
"Woodrum certainly knows her target audience and does a very nice job with the character development of Maisy. This is an incredibly kid-friendly story that makes a great introduction to the genre of mystery for newly independent readers. It's a quick page turning read that encourages kids to think outside of the box." ~ The Children's Book Review
"The delights from this book start with the cover art and continue with a fun story that is well-written." ~ 5 Star Review, R. Johnson, Amazon
"My name is Kat. I am 9 years old. I would rate this a five because I like everything about it, the mystery the most. It was fun to read. My favorite part was the mystery and the end. I love this book so much. I think other kids would love it too because it has mystery and most kids would like mystery books. Most mystery books have a good mystery. I would love to read the whole series." ~ 5 Star Review, Heather A., Amazon
"What an Amazing book. I totally love it. I admire the author dedication for writing an incredible book. While reading this book, it was very clear that author understand kids. I’ve always been an avid reader and this book is one of the best books I have read in 2014. This book grabs my attention from the very start of the book and couldn't put it aside till I finish it." ~ 5 Star Review, KristinT, Amazon
"I knew I would love this book simply because I knew it would remind me of the mystery books I read in my childhood. I really love how much trust the teachers and community as a whole put in Maisy. She is well deserving of their admiration as the way she finds clues and finds the mascot for the school is well thought out. This is a story any child would love to read. I hope Maisy continues to solve mysteries..." ~ 5 Star Review, Josh, Amazon
 

About the Author: Elizabeth Woodrum

[caption id="attachment_17336" align="alignleft" width="150"]Elizabeth Woodrum Elizabeth Woodrum[/caption] Elizabeth Woodrum is an elementary teacher in Ohio. She came to love writing when she was in elementary school, but more recently began writing material for use in her classroom. From that writing, grew the desire to write books for the general population of children and adults alike. The Maisy Files, a children's series, is the first series that she has published. As a reader, Elizabeth prefers the fantasy genre, but she enjoys realistic fiction as well. Some of her favorite authors include JK Rowling, Stephenie Meyer, Rick Riordan, Veronica Roth, Suzanne Collins, and Nicholas Sparks. Originally from Indiana, Elizabeth currently resides near Dayton, Ohio with her two pets: a cat named Butterscotch and a dog named Reese Cup.  

Book Website | Author Blog | Twitter

Facebook | Goodreads | Pinterest

 

* $25 Book Blast Giveaway *

Amazon 25 gift card Prize: $25 Amazon Gift Card or PayPal cash (winner’s choice) Contest ends: August 7, 11:59 pm, 2014 Open: Internationally How to enter: Please enter using the Rafflecopter widget below. Terms and Conditions: NO PURCHASE NECESSARY TO ENTER OR WIN. VOID WHERE PROHIBITED BY LAW. A winner will be randomly drawn through the Rafflecopter widget and will be contacted by email within 48 hours after the giveaway ends. The winner will then have 72 hours to respond. If the winner does not respond within 72 hours, a new draw will take place for a new winner. Odds of winning will vary depending on the number of eligible entries received. This contest is in no way sponsored, endorsed or administered by, or associated with Facebook. This giveaway is sponsored by the author, Elizabeth Woodrum and is hosted and managed by Renee from Mother Daughter Book Reviews. If you have any additional questions – feel free to send and email to Renee(at)MotherDaughterBookReviews(dot)com. a Rafflecopter giveaway MDBR Book Promotion Services

Tuesday, July 8, 2014

Book Blast and GIVEAWAY: A Different Kind of Safari by Helen C. Hipp

A Different Kind of Safari Helen HippTitle: A Different Kind of Safari
Author: Helen C. Hipp
Publication Date: March 19, 2013
Publisher: A Different Kind of Safari LLC 
Pages: 32
Recommended Ages: 5 to 10 
Summary: What do you need to feel happy about being different? Based loosely on real life experiences, this heartwarming and powerful book illustrates how self-awareness, and courage help a young boy named Raymond learn the difference between seeing things as they appear to be and seeing things as they are. Feeling "different and lonely" Raymond befriends a hippo while on Safari in Africa. Unlike other grey hippos, this hippo is pink. Ray is soon carried into a world beyond labels and challenging assumptions. You will never guess what happens next!

The Inspiration Behind the Story by Helen Hipp

A Different Kind of Safari inside page Inspired by real-life adventure, the story behind the story unfolded when I went on an African safari back in 2001. The trip was lead by my father whose dream was to share the safari experience with his family. Little did I know that this trip was going to incite me to write a children’s adventure book but it did. The storyline made it appearance when my family spotted a pod of hippos and one was pink! My son Ray fourteen at the time immediately named her “Rosie”. Curious and wanting to learn more about this hippo we asked the guide many questions about hippos and hippo behavior. Specifically I wanted to know why the pink hippo stood so far outside of her pod. The familiarity of the guides answer took me by surprise, he explained that “Rosie” was tolerated but not necessarily accepted by the herd because of her differences. As a parent of a child with special needs I immediately felt a strong affiliation with Rosie’s situation as did my son Ray who has experienced his own challenges with acceptance. Inspired, I decided to share the story with the world by weaving them into a children's adventure book that celebrates differences. The book is entitled “A Different Kind of Safari”. Find out what you can learn from Rosie the pink hippo, and how you can share those lessons with the children in your life.  

Sneak Peek

 

The Buzz About the Book

"A timeless book, that will speak to everyone. To be enjoyed over and over again! A fun, yet very thought provoking story for all ages. If books had a satisfaction guarantee, this one would be on the top of the list. " ~ 5 Star Review, Adden B. Chrystie, Amazon
"A Different Kind of Safari is truly a different kind of children's book! The beautiful artwork bring a very special story to life and I am excited the book is now available in audio format for an added bonus while driving kids around town! I particularly love the message of the book, which teaches us to celebrate our unique differences through Rosie the Pink Hippo rather than allow them to keep us from exploring our potentials. I highly recommend this book to all parents and special needs educators in particular. Thank you for writing this wonderful story!" ~ 5 Star Review, missladyjane, Barnes and Noble
"I really enjoyed this book. The illustrations were beautiful. I found this book to be very interesting and it was written from real life experiences. A Different Kind of Safari draws you in along with Ray on his journey to find his happiness and the answers to his questions. I recommend this book to children that are of grade school age but yet many younger children may enjoy the illustrations." ~ 5 Star Review, Whittle House, Goodreads
"The book has a great story. The illustrations are amazing!!!!! Get this book! All children from the young to the old will love this book. " ~ 5 Star Review, Mel, Amazon
"A Different Kind of Safari is not only a good book, but a great story! It is not only for caregivers, teachers and parents, but for anyone who has ever felt out of place. A pink hippo named “Rosie” and her friend “Ray” take a journey and explore their similarities and differences on the river of life. Self- acceptance and the acceptance of others is exquisitely conveyed in a fresh, FUN way through this sweet tail. It is a prize for all libraries!" ~ 5 Star Review, Anna Wood, Barnes and Noble
 

Purchase

Amazon (Hardcover) | Audible (Audiobook) | Barnes and Noble

 

About the Author: Helen C. Hipp

Helen C. Hipp, AuthorHelen Hipp’s experience raising a special needs child led her to an M.A. in clinical psychology and certification as a life coach. She began her career as a psychotherapist to help people find answers for their life problems. Her work eventually evolved into a coaching practice, WithinU Life Coaching, focusing on individuals with special needs and their families. Helen uses her 13+ years of counseling experience and 20+ years’ experience as a successful advocate for individuals with special needs by helping them reveal their innate ability to solve difficult situations. Her debut book " A Different Kind of Safari" puts into words the essence of Helen's teachings addressing the many questions life asks by offering up lighthearted, ever-changing perspectives that transform personal challenges into opportunities. For more information, visit the books official website and to see a picture of the real Rosie the real life pink hippo that inspired this story, go to www.adifferentkindofsafari.com

Website | Twitter | Facebook | Goodreads

 

* Book Blast Giveaway *

Amazon 25 gift card Prize: $25 Amazon Gift Card or PayPal cash (winner’s choice) Contest ends: August 6, 11:59 pm, 2014 Open: Internationally How to enter: Please enter using the Rafflecopter widget below. Terms and Conditions: NO PURCHASE NECESSARY TO ENTER OR WIN. VOID WHERE PROHIBITED BY LAW. A winner will be randomly drawn through the Rafflecopter widget and will be contacted by email within 48 hours after the giveaway ends. The winner will then have 72 hours to respond. If the winner does not respond within 72 hours, a new draw will take place for a new winner. Odds of winning will vary depending on the number of eligible entries received. This contest is in no way sponsored, endorsed or administered by, or associated with Facebook. This giveaway is sponsored by the author, Helen Hipp and is hosted and managed by Renee from Mother Daughter Book Reviews. If you have any additional questions – feel free to send and email to Renee(at)MotherDaughterBookReviews(dot)com. a Rafflecopter giveaway MDBR Book Promotion Services

Thursday, July 3, 2014

Book Blast: Starchild series by Vacen Taylor

Age of Akra (Starchild, Book 1)

Title: Starchild: The Age of Akra (Book 1)
Author: Vacen Taylor
 Publication Date: March 6, 2013 
Publisher: Odyssey Books 
Pages: 135 
 Recommended Ages: 10+ 

Reviewed by: Renee (Mother)
  Summary: When Mai is chosen to take a pilgrimage to the Valley of a Thousand Thoughts to train with the oldest and wisest master of their people, an ancient prophecy is set in motion. The events to come have been predicted but are not unchangeable. When the Starchild returns to the planet of Sage, the foreknowledge of the prophecy begins to gain strength. Four children come together and become linked to the events that lie ahead. In The Age of Akra, the first stage of their journey has them facing the deadly spiderflax, only then to be confronted by a creature of the underworld, an evil Dementra called Amual. The struggle to bring peace to the world of powerful energies lies in the hands of these four children and a strange little lizard. And it will not come easy. This journey is only the beginning.  

Buzz About Book 1

"The Age of Akra is a riveting, well-written, and imaginative story featuring an intricate plot and stellar cast of characters that is sure to be thoroughly enjoyed by tweens, teens, and even adults who love a great science fiction tale. This is a real page-turner and I highly recommend this book to children aged 10 and older. I just loved it and to think the author has seven books planned for the series ... I'm salivating." ~ Renee, Mother Daughter Book Reviews
"What an imagination!! Absolutely fabulous. What a great read. The characters came to life so easily. Their physical descriptions have me a visual idea but their personalities evolved and developed quickly so they were my friends and heroes before very long. I cried when Mia was selected and was on the edge of my seat when it looked like Long wouldn't make it. I couldn't put it down. A very clever story with wonderful likable characters in amazing places with fascinating skills and weird animals. I went through a range is emotions with these characters where I wanted to hug them, love them, give them a good slap, protect and spend time with. I cannot wait for book 2. Highly recommend this series of books and hope they make a movie from it would be a blockbuster!!!" ~ 5 Star Review, Dannielle S., Goodreads
"Masterfully told from different viewpoints, Starchild is neither a "boy" nor "girl" book, but rather an everyone book. Struggling readers will enjoy the simple truths of the characters, and more advanced readers will delight in the journey of Mai, Long, and Akra. A journey that introduces multifaceted characters, whom I hope will make an appearance in subsequent titles in The Starchild Series, because I'm already attached to them. Even the slightest of creatures was placed in Starchild with the greatest of skill, care, and thought. Outstanding job, Ms. Taylor, and I look forward to continuing my journey through the series." ~ 5 Star Review, C. Bullard, Amazon
 

Purchase Book 1

*Available as a 99 cent E-Book through Amazon *

Amazon | Barnes and Noble | Ganxy | iTunes | The Book Depository

 

Book 2: The City of Souls

Starchild: The City of Souls by Vacen TaylorTitle: Starchild: The City of Souls (Book 2)
Author: Vacen Taylor
 Publication Date:October 14, 2013
 Publisher: Odyssey Books
 Pages: 137 
Recommended Ages: 10+ 

Reviewed by: Renee (Mother)
 Summary: In The City of Souls, the pilgrimage to the Valley of a Thousand Thoughts continues. Having already triumphed against dangerous adversaries in The Age of Akra, the four children -- Mai, Long, Akra and Sahib -- now face the evil melkarie and must escape to the City of Souls. When they reach the safety of the land of Naroan, in a city hidden under a blanket of living green, the children are confronted with the challenge of locating the Singing Soul. But the underworld is searching for it too, and will do anything to stop the young pilgrims from finding it. The prophesy is at risk of being extinguished unless the children succeed in their quest.  

Buzz About Book 2

"The City of Souls is the second book in a science fiction fantasy featuring an intricate and engaging plot, well-developed characters who are faced with new challenges, a well-described setting reminiscent of Star Wars with a hint of Lord of the Rings and Indiana Jones-style action and suspense. I’m in this series for the whole haul as I feel completely invested in what happens next as the prophecy continues to roll forward. I highly recommend this book as well as the series to science fiction aficionados ages 10 years and older looking for something a little different. ~ Renee, Mother Daughter Book Reviews
"The author graciously sent a signed copy of this 2nd book in her series to my daughter Emily. Emily read Vacen Taylor's first book in the Starchild series: The Age of Akra. She very much enjoyed the adventure and getting to know the characters. Emily eagerly anticipated the next book! Emily was thrilled when her copy of The City of Souls arrived and did what she could do to avoid her homework so that she could sneak and read The City of Souls. She read the book with much interest and said that she loved every bit of it. As a parent, it's a big comfort and joy to me when my kids find stories written for their enjoyment! The Starchild series captured the heart and imagination of my daughter. And she very much looks forward to book three." ~ 5 Star Review, Vonda N., Goodreads
"Ms Taylor provides masterful descriptions that don't bore the reader. Thank you. I think the writing is at its best in the action, but the character building, backstory and forewarning is all there and relevant to the overall building of good storytelling. I'm assuming the introductions to some of the other multifaceted characters will have relevance in future books. I do hope so. Overall, a great read for children who are looking for something refreshingly new and unique." ~ 5 Star Review, Kirt T., Amazon
 

Purchase Book 2

Amazon | Barnes and Noble | iTunes | The Book Depository

 


Vacen Taylor AuthorVacen Taylor is an Australian author, writer, occasional artist and amateur photographer. She loves creating stories for children and reading to her young readers. She is a happy person with a zest for life and exploring the world at large. Vacen collects comics and loves superheroes. Her favourite superhero is Spider-Man. Vacen also believes in expressing the uniqueness of self. She has had several short stories published for adults online. Starchild is her first novel for children and is the first book in a series of seven.

Book Website | Author Website | Twitter

Facebook | Goodreads | Google+

 

* Book Blast Giveaway *

Amazon 25 gift card Prize: $25 Amazon Gift Card or PayPal cash (winner’s choice) Contest ends: August 1, 11:59 pm, 2014 Open: Internationally How to enter: Please enter using the Rafflecopter widget below. Terms and Conditions: NO PURCHASE NECESSARY TO ENTER OR WIN. VOID WHERE PROHIBITED BY LAW. A winner will be randomly drawn through the Rafflecopter widget and will be contacted by email within 48 hours after the giveaway ends. The winner will then have 72 hours to respond. If the winner does not respond within 72 hours, a new draw will take place for a new winner. Odds of winning will vary depending on the number of eligible entries received. This contest is in no way sponsored, endorsed or administered by, or associated with Facebook. This giveaway is sponsored by the author, Vacen Taylor and is hosted and managed by Renee from Mother Daughter Book Reviews. If you have any additional questions – feel free to send and email to Renee(at)MotherDaughterBookReviews(dot)com.

  a Rafflecopter giveaway MDBR Book Promotion Services